Feeling really depressed

Hi, I’ve had 3 treatments /infusions so far. After my first infusion within 24-36 hours I started feeling joy again and hopeful and feeling excited for the future which I haven’t felt in years. I’ve had years of traditional talk therapy, 20+ years of being on some sort of antidepressants. Depression anxiety runs in my family. I am a pharmacist (which most people don’t realize is a very high stress job). I work 12-15 hour days without breaks (yes it’s actually legal), we are never given enough help and I’m often working alone expected to fill rxs, answer the phone, cashier, provide immunizations, administer psych shots, answer everyone’s questions, not ever sit down(they threw away our stools) I had to buy myself one after having hip repair surgery (caused by standing for long hours). Yet I’m too embarrassed to even use it as sitting has a stigma. I’ve been robbed twice at the pharmacy at gunpoint and tied up with duct tape.
Anyhow, I’m losing topic after infusion 2 and 3 I’ve been very pessimistic, can’t get myself motivated to do anything, uncontrollably crying, angry, tired, very weepy. Is this part of the process? Anything I should focus on before my next infusion?

4 Likes

My impression thus far is that it’s impossible to say what’s normal during this process for any of us - but I, too, definitely have experienced a lot of emotional upheaval during this process (I will receive infusions 5 & 6 next week). In my case the emotional upheaval has made me feel pretty vulnerable at times - felt a lot like anxiety.

One of the CNA’s giving me infusions commented that for some if us it seems like when our depression is improved…we feel more anxiety. (My case) And if our anxiety improves we feel more depressed! So sounds like what you’re experiencing is not unusual….albeit NOT FUN.