First Appointment NEED ADVICE

Hello!

I just had my first ketamine therapy session this morning and I’m quite baffled by the experience.

I thought of nothing. The whole experience just felt like I was wading through mud. I didn’t see anything. I was told to not set any “intention” for the first round but now I’m really anxious about round two.

It was bizarre, oddly exhausting and left me a bit bewildered. It almost felt as if I was just stuck in the dark. No lights, no visuals, just muddy heaviness and coldness.

Is every treatment different? Can I expect a different experience next time? How do you set an intention? I’m so confused!! Help!

@Jackiehilltx What kind of treatment was this? IV or IM?

My guess (and of course I am not a doctor!) is that your dosage was much too light - not enough for you to disassociate but just enough to make you feel weird. That would be pretty awful. And it sounds like you could use a blanket, too. Mine was light my first time. Although I did disassociate I kept popping in and out due to distractions, etc.

Yes, every one is different and it’s REALLY important for you to communicate your experience to your clinic before the next infusion. They will definitely want to make an adjustment to your dosage. And yes, I imagine if they get that straightened out it will be a very different experience!

How to set an intention: That’s the relatively easy part. An intention is just an idea you focus on while relaxing before treatment kicks in. It can be a specific treatment goal you’ve discussed with your therapist. It can be something as simple as reassuring phrases like “I am healing”. “I am safe”. When you’re in the middle of an infusion it can be helpful to have that phrase or word to fall back upon if you start feeling scared or confused. Sometimes just a word, like “Love” can be surprisingly powerful and grounding in a good way during treatment.