Starting treatment… nerves

Hi everyone, I’m Bex. 44, significant depression, anxiety, CPTSD with much trauma, and I’m autistic. I’m a therapist and a musician and have been following this treatment and am excited but also very nervous to try it.

My first infusion will be Sunday. I’m doing what I can to prepare but I’m not even sure what I should do to prepare. I love music and the suggestions to have a mantra or affirmations to think on while receiving the ketamine.

I hate being out of control so I hope I don’t fight it too much. One of my band members suggested that I spend time at my piano after treatment with a recording device to capture any music that I might create. I’d appreciate any encouragement and suggestions of things to do/not do.

I’ve loved reading the threads and I’ve shared some things with my spouse who is also hoping this provides relief for me from the depression and crippling fear that I experience. I mask really well but I’m trying to be more open about my experiences.

Thanks for reading and replying if you choose to :smile:

Bex

4 Likes

@Bex sounds like you already have a great outlook for treatment. You’re going to do great. It’s natural to be a bit nervous but you already know what to do - great music, positive mindset, and go with the flow. I think composing as a method of integration sounds amazing!

We are all here for you. :heart:

1 Like